People who inspire me

Sometimes it is so easy for me to sit here and whinge about my ‘first world’ problems, like sore feet when I’m running.  I am lucky that I don’t have much more to complain about – well I probably do but I can sense you yawning already!

I do some volunteer crisis counselling and when I am there, I get a really good dose of perspective.  Because ‘crisis’ means something different to everyone, even though it might not sound like a crisis to me, it doesn’t mean it isn’t terribly upsetting and angst-causing for someone else.  I love it when people sometimes call up and apologise about taking up so much of your time when they have a list of issues as long as your arm, and yet they still know that there is someone else out there who is worse off than them.  I love that some people have so much compassion, and so much perspective.

I continue to be inspired by those people whose lives are in complete disarray, but who recognise the need for change and ask for help in getting that change happening.  It humbles me every time.

Courtesy of Pinterest

I have also been inspired of late by those who dedicate their lives to finding solutions to terrible diseases like cancer.  The Telethon Adventurers are ‘fighting a war on childhood cancer’, in the memory of Elliot Parish.  I am lucky enough to know Elliot’s mum Emily (from our primary school days), and I bump into her every now and then and it usually takes me a lot of strength to not to shed a tear when I see her.  Emily and her husband, Rick, do an amazing job fundraising for research into childhood cancer, because they don’t want any other families to go through what they did.  They are inspirational because they have turned such a tragic loss into something so positive and hopeful.  They stand up for what they believe in, and they continue to engage with the medical fraternity when many people in their position may have turned their backs on it – it being too painful a reminder of their loss. 

For me, it continues to reiterate that it doesn’t matter how much money you have, what you look like, where you live, or what you do, at the end of the day, if you are healthy, happy and have the basics of life, then really you have it all. 

Courtesy of Pinterest

How do you keep things in perspective and who inspires you?

Vx

Hi! Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to hear from you. Vx

