Hippo birdy to me

Yes, it’s my birthday today!  And what a lovely day I’ve had so far.  The kids were up early (my 8 yo even set the alarm so as not to miss any of the excitement!), and we did our usual opening of presents in bed.  They made me a beautiful card (which is a bit crinkled in the photo!) and then I was given my first ever turquoise box!!  Yes, Sweet went all out this year (and it’s not even a birthday divisible by 5!!) and bought me the beautiful necklace below!  I am soo chuffed! 

Card from my kids, written by my 6 yo daughter

Unfortunately there was not enough time for breakfast in bed this morning though, as we had our Father’s Day breakfast on at school – bacon rolls!  So we rushed off to school early to meet up with my parents to get our bacon fix – yummy!!  Then the pre-primary class did a beautiful Father’s Day liturgy.  They are so cute! 

My parents gave me a new rose gold watch – it too is just lovely.  We went straight to the jeweller to have some links removed so it fits properly and now I get distracted by it while I’m driving – bit like I used to with my engagement ring when we first got engaged!!

My youngest child and I took the dogs to the beach – it has become a bit of a ritual on my birthday, but sadly, this year is the last one when I’ll have a child at home with me.  So even though the weather was not too flash, off we went to fossick for sea glass, as we do!  We didn’t have much luck today, but I managed to find some interesting pieces of driftwood.  The dogs absolutely loved it too!

At the beach with Boags (in the background) and Lily, who we are dog-sitting.

And the day is only half way through!  We’ve got friends coming over after school for a play and then off to dinner tonight!  However, in the meantime, the domestics still need to be done, so I’ll be off now to hang out the washing and clean up a bit for our guests this afternoon!

Oh and thanks for all the FB birthday love!  My phone’s been running hot all day!  So much to be grateful for today.

Vx

