Missing in action (well sort of)

I’ve been busy for the last week entertaining the kids on their first week of school holidays. Thank goodness we didn’t have much planned as the week ended up chock-a-block full of activities and play dates with only a smidgen of down-time between it all.

My excuse for not blogging is that the kids were on very limited ‘screen-time’ so it would not have been fair for me to be sitting in front of a computer everyday whilst I made them do craft or something! And I must admit, it was refreshing not to be a slave to the pc or the blog. I’ve also been reading a lovely book which I would sneak a chapter or 2 of whenever I could!  In fact I finished it this morning and feel somewhat bereft that the story is over.

The book was called “The Beach House”, by Mary Alice Monroe, and so today I decided we’d head to the beach with the dog to get some sea air to clear out my brain after a busy weekend.  What a great decision that was!  Although it’s not a particularly warm day, it was very pleasant there and the kids and the dog had a great time.  There is an inordinate amount of seaweed at Perth beaches at the moment (in fact the popular Cottesloe Beach has been closed to swimmers for a few days), and Leighton Beach, where we take the dog, was no different.  But the seaweed meant there was an absolute treasure trove of shells, smooth pebbles, driftwood, supposed fossils and my favourite, sea glass. 

Last week we caught up with old friends, school friends, cousins, grandparents, and each other.  We also managed to weed the garden beds, plant some sunflower seeds, lavender and herbs.  We also kayaked, swam, shopped, baked, ate, played, laughed, drove, read, painted, created and picnicked.  The kids actually went into their playroom and played (on the couple of times when we were stuck inside because of the wet weather), and (touch wood) they have yet to tell me that they are bored!  I’ve given myself a pat on the back for that! 

I also started back at running – managing 3 last week.  I really struggled with last Wednesday’s run and I ended up having a nap not long after breakfast I was so knackered!!  Talk about losing fitness.  Friday was much better though, and I managed nearly 8km – with, wait for it… no pain!  I also had my MRIs on my feet on the weekend, to confirm the diagnoses of Morton’s Neuroma – I’ll get the results by the end of the week.  (Although wearing high heels for my sister-in-law’s birthday party yesterday caused the same pain!  No wonder I only normally wear flats!).  I am glad to be back running again, and even though I was enjoying having the extra bit of a sleep-in every morning, the endorphins you get from running are really worth the effort!

Now, I haven’t forgotten about my house-build-to-do-list, but I promise I’ll write more about that once the kids are back at school and life is a bit more normal. 

Must go though before they get restless.  Got to get them to help me hang out all the washing – wish me luck!

Vx

2 thoughts on “Missing in action (well sort of)

  1. Oh! We so, so need to do the dog beach before the weeks out…love fossicking for shells and sea glass. Great you have taken down time from computer…I should try that too, it must be quite novel!!!!

    • It is really worth it at the moment Mia – the seaweed is catching it all and it was so easy to fossick. And the dog was so happy to have all the attention after we were out most of the weekend! By the way, I will be kid-free on Friday – any chance of that long awaited catch-up? I’ll be in your neck of the woods. Email me and we can hopefully work something out. Vx

Hi! Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to hear from you. Vx

